National Academy of Engineering Grants KAUST GCR Investigator Professor Logan NAE Membership


Professor Bruce E. Logan, a KAUST Global Collaborative Research (GRP) Investigator at Penn State University, has received the honor of election to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). NAE President Charles M. Vest announced the election of Prof. Logan and 68 other Members on February 7, 2013.

Prof. Logan is a world-renowned pioneer in the rapidly advancing field of microbial electrochemical technology. KAUST funding has supported his laboratory in the invention of ground-breaking devices for desalination, power generation, and wastewater treatment. Thus, his work directly aligns with the KAUST research thrusts of water, energy, and environment. Prof. Logan’s strong record of achievement includes regular publication in prestigious journals including Nature and Science. Some of the technologies arising from his KAUST-funded project include:
  •  A novel microbial desalination cell (MDC) that produces both fresh water and electrical power
  • Advanced microbial fuel cell (MFC) technology for generating electricity from wastewater
  • High-efficiency microbial electrolysis cells (MECs) that produce hydrogen gas or methane
  • Advanced hybrid technologies that combine bioelectrochemical power generation with reverse electrodialysis, allowing power generation from naturally-occurring salinity gradients in water
Prof. Logan collaborates with Professors Gary Amy, Pascal Saikaly, Muhammad Hussain and other KAUST researchers, and has actively engaged in mentoring several KAUST Students who have visited his lab at Penn State.



Prof. Logan is the Evan Pugh Professor and Kappe Professor of Environmental Engineering at Pennsylvania State University. In making the announcement of his election, the NAE noted that “Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer”.
Prof. Logan is one of 12 renowned scientists from around the globe who have received KAUST Global Collaborative Research Investigator Awards since 2008.